On the site of Chateau was originally a Gothic water fortress. In 1496 the estate fell into the possession of the Lords of Žerotín, which remained associated with it more than three centuries. High indebtedness then led to the sale of farm to the Liechtenstein, in whose family the castle remained until 1945.
Small water fort was unable to meet the high demands of one of the richest Moravian families, and therefore after 1531 began Jan Žerotín rebuilding the opulent Renaissance palace. The building has the shape of the letter U and side-storey arcaded courtyard. It is dominated by a six-storey tower already in 1590 provided a chiming clock. The complex was surrounded by a defensive wall with a moat. Jan Jáchym of Žerotín mansion was expanded to a two-storey baroque wing also with arcades, as a counterpart to the renaissance of the building. In the old wing was established castle chapel, whose ceiling fresco created a significant Moravian Baroque painter Jan Kryštof Handke.
There is a unique collection of rare art objects from the original Žerotín collections. The building itself is one of the best preserved Renaissance buildings in Moravia, like its interior. Valuable well as a beautiful stove of colored glazed tiles relief from the years 1587 - 1589. It is probably the oldest preserved stove in our country and certainly in Moravia.